(The Post Millennial) – The Biden administration has stated that it will ban travel to and from South Africa, where it appears the newly-dubbed “omicron” has its origins. The ban will go into effect on Monday.

Despite implementing his own travel ban, Biden previously referred to Trump’s travel ban as “xenophobia, and fear-mongering.”

Nonetheless, there are numerous accounts of Biden contradicting himself on the issue of travel bans. “A wall will not stop the coronavirus,” Biden tweeted in March, 2020. “Banning all travel from Europe — or any other part of the world — will not stop it. This disease could impact every nation and any person on the planet — and we need a plan to combat it.”

Additionally, Biden also referred to Trump’s restriction of migration from certain African countries as a “disgrace.”

Vice-President Kamala Harris is also guilty of the same contradiction, calling Trump’s restrictions “Un-American.”

The Biden administration’s travel restrictions will apply to South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi. The delta variant is still the dominant variant of the COVID virus in most of the rest of the world, as of the time of this writing.